|Probate Court Information
|Marriage License Information
By Ohio law, both parties must apply for a
marriage license in person. The cost is $40, cash
Who may apply?
- One party must be a current resident
of the county or
- Both parties live out of state.
- If under eighteen, please call 740-652-7488 for
What do I bring along to apply?
- $40.00 cash (checks
and credit cards not accepted)
- Proof of identification: driver’s license,
state ID card, passport, military ID
- Proof of residency: If your proof of identification
does not show your current address, please bring
a utility bill or statement with your current address.
- Certified copy of birth certificate if 18 or under; no proof of age if 19 or older.
- If either party has been previously married, a
certified or file-stamped copy of the most recent
divorce or dissolution decree.
- If you are not a U.S. citizen, a passport or resident
alien card is required.
- If you have legally changed your name, a certified
copy of the judgment entry.
Where do I apply?
The Probate clerk’s office
is located on the third floor of the Hall of Justice,
224 East Main Street, Lancaster, Ohio. Marriage licenses
are issued between the hours of 8:00 a.m. through 4:00
p.m., Monday through Friday. The office is closed on
weekends and holidays. Please check our holiday schedule
for exact closures.
Your license will be issued at the
time of application. Please allow 20 minutes for
Where and how long is the license
- License is valid for 60 days from
the date issued.
- License is valid anywhere in the state of Ohio,
if you are a resident.
- License issued to out-of-state residents are valid
only in the county where it was issued.
to questions often asked:
- A blood test is no longer
- There is no longer a waiting period before the
license is issued.
- Wedding ceremonies are not performed by the judge
or at the courthouse.
- A list of local officials that perform wedding
ceremonies will be provided upon your request.
Back to Top
|Certified Copy of Marriage
If you wish to receive a certified copy of your marriage, please send a self-addressed stamped envelope and $3.00 per certified copy requested. Checks should be made payable to the Fairfield County Probate Court. In addition, we will need the following information: full names of both husband and wife and the date of marriage. Copies may be obtained in person during office hours.
Back to Top
For Court Costs, please refer to the Local Court Rules of the Probate Court.
Back to Top
To initiate an adoption procedure, please make sure
you have the following at the time of filing with the
- Petition for Adoption
- Preliminary Account (not required on
- Certified copy of child’s birth certificate
- Vital Statistics Form, HEA 2757 (for new birth
- Proof of custody (if child is not in custody of
- Cash or check/money order payable to “Fairfield
County Probate Court”
Please note: If you
are working with an agency that will provide the home
assessment, please notify the Court at the time of
Paperwork can be filed by mail or
in person. The Court’s hours are 8:00 a.m. to
4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Closed for all legal
holidays, as well as the day after Thanksgiving, and
at noon on Christmas Eve, New Year’s Eve and
10 days prior to final hearing the
following should be submitted to the Court:
account (not required for step-parent
- Balance of court costs.
For more information,
and for foreign adoptions, please see Foreign Adoption Information*.
*pdf format - Requires the free Adobe
Reader from Adobe
Any questions should be addressed to:
Cheri Shaw: 740-652-7470
Probate Clerk's Office :
Back to Top
for Change of Name
- All documents must be typed, and all signatures
must be in blue ink.
Court costs are $161.00, which
must be paid at the time you file the documents
in Court. If the other parent has no known address
and we have to notify them by publication, the court
costs are $271.00.
Applicant must be a resident
of Fairfield County for one year prior to the filing
of the Application.
A certified copy of your birth
certificate must accompany the application.
ADULT NAME CHANGE
APPLICATION: This Application
must be filled out with the exact full name as
it appears on your birth certificate and must be
signed by you. When the Judge sets this down for
a hearing, we will mail you a copy to advise you
when you should appear.
JUDGEMENT ENTRY: You should
type the names in the proper spaces at the
top and complete the information in the middle.
This entry will be signed by the Judge at the time
of the hearing.
MINOR’S CHANGE OF NAME
Both parents must consent to the change
of name or be served a notice of the hearing to have
the opportunity to appear in Court.
If you do not have
a good address for the other parent, then we must
publish in order to get service on them. Type the Affidavit
of Service by Publication form and the Notice of
Hearing on Change of Name and file these forms with
the Application. We will publish it for you in the
If there is no father listed
on the child’s
birth certificate, then we must publish for unknown
father, or if a paternity action has been established
then we need a copy of the Entry.
Judge Williams requires
you to bring the child to the hearing with you.
the original birth certificate is from Ohio, we will
send a certified copy of the Judge’s Entry
to the State Department and you should receive your
copy of the corrected birth certificate in about eight
weeks. If the original birth certificate is from a
different state, you will need to mail the Judge’s
Entry to that state office in order for them to change
the child’s birth record.
If you have questions,
Jennifer Nash: 740-652-7490
Probate Office: 740-652-7464
Back to Top
Probate forms can be found here.
All forms are in pdf format and require the free Adobe Reader from Adobe
Back to Top